The Leadership Award

Recognizing individuals whose work has improved the LGBTQ+ and military communities. 

The 2022 Knights Out Leadership Award was presented on April 9, 2022 to Dan Manning ’04, for outstanding commitment to the LGBTQ+ and military communities. 

Previous Leadership Award Recipients:

Andrew Sullivan – for his advocacy for marriage equality. 

Aaron Belkin – director of the Palm Center, whose research directly influenced the repeal of DADT and the ban on transgender service. 

Hon. Sean Patrick Maloney – West Point’s Congressman and co-chair of the Congressional LGBTQ+ Equality Caucus. 

Fiona Dawson – director of “TransMilitary” and advocate for open transgender military service and LGBTQ+ equality. 

MG Randy Taylor – for his leadership as an openly gay general officer and as a mentor to the Corps of Cadets. 

Sam Pressler – for his leadership in supporting the veterans’ community through the Armed Forces Arts Partnership.